Home »  News

Merck Millipore India announces the winners of the first ‘Merck Millipore India Innovation awards’ 2012

The MMIIA was set up in 2011 to recognize exemplary research undertaken by scientists from government-funded and non-profit public research institutes in the fields of life science.

Merck Millipore (India), the life science division of Merck KGaA of Darmstadt, Germany announced the first set of winners of the ‘Merck Millipore India Innovation Awards’ 2012 (MMIIA). The MMIIA was set up in 2011 to recognize exemplary research undertaken by scientists from government-funded and non-profit public research institutes in the fields of life science, i.e. green chemistry, medicinal chemistry, chemical and bio-analytics, proteomics, genomics, drug discovery and delivery, bio-manufacturing, biomarkers and synthetic biology.

The following three winning teams were selected from over a hundred applicants:

- First Prize of Rs 30,00,000 to Dr Tapas Kumar Kundu, Dr Ruthrotha Selvi Bharatha Vikru, Hari Kishore Annavarapu, Dr Mantelingu Kempegowda from Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru












- Second Prize of Rs 20,00,000 to Dr Dhiraj Kumar, Dr Ahmad Faisal Karim, Pallavi Chandra, Aanchal Chopra,  Zaved Siddiqui, Dr Ashima Bhaskar, Dr Amit Singh from International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi


- Third Prize of Rs 10,00,000 to Dr Rita Kumar, Dr Abha Joshi, Dr Anil Kumar, Dr Tushya Kumar Saxena fromInstitute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi


Addressing the selection process, Dr Theodor Dingermann, Director of the Institute of Pharmaceutical Biology at the Goethe-University in Frankfurt and a member of MMIIA’s Scientific Advisory Board said, “India is a global leader in biotechnology, medical and health research, and R&D by the scientific community here is extremely promising. I am honoured to be a part of the MMIIA selection panel that aims to nurture the budding scientists and appreciate their significant contribution to the field of life sciences. The final selection criteria were based on the relevance of the project for the Indian society, novelty, the application, sustainability, commercial potential and impact of the project at the regional, national and global level”.

Dr. Claus-Dieter Boedecker, Managing Director, Merck Limited added, “The pharmaceutical market in India is growing at an accelerated pace and Indian scientists have made a significant contribution to this growth. The Merck Millipore India Innovation Awards is a bi-annual event with an aim to provide Indian scientists outside of the commercial research centres with appreciation and recognition. Through this award we wish to fulfil their research aspirations and provide them the necessary resources to excel. The MMIIA reflects our global vision of being a leader in pharmaceuticals, chemicals and life science”.

Besides Dr. Dingermann, the Scientific Advisory Board and the jury for MMIIA comprised of the following distinguished scientists from India and Germany:

  • Dr Dhrubajyoti Chattopadhyay, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic), CalcuttaUniversity | Director, Centre for Research in   Nanoscience and Nanotechnology at Calcutta University
  • Dr Karl-Heinz Derwenskus, Senior Vice President, Head of Innovation Strategy, Technology Office Chemicals, Merck KGaA
  • Dr Yamuna Krishnan, Senior Assistant Professor, National Centre for Biological Sciences, TIFR, Bengaluru, India
  • Dr Ramesh Chander Kuhad, Professor at the Department of Microbiology inUniversity of Delhi South Campus, New Delhi
  • Professor G D Yadav, Vice Chancellor and R T Mody Distinguished Professor of the Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai | J.C. Bose National Fellow
  • Dr J. S. Yadav, Director Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, India.


There are no comments yet...

Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment